Comparison
Invoice capture software in Switzerland: 2026 comparison
Your accounting software may already read your invoices. This comparison sets the built-in capture of Swiss accounting software side by side with dedicated tools, using what each vendor publishes: function, quota or entry price, hosting location. No ranking: criteria and facts, recorded on 27 September 2026.
How do you choose invoice capture software?
Four questions settle most choices: how many invoices without a QR code, which accounting software, where the data goes, who approves.
- Volume. Count your invoices without a QR code per month: they are the ones that consume quotas. QR-bills are decoded without OCR in most Swiss software.
- Accounting software in place. A built-in tool has no connector to maintain; an external tool depends on the interface. bexio’s API is free (OAuth 2.0); Abacus’s is documented but subject to a licence, on each installation; Banana only offers a local read-only API (Advanced plan); WinBIZ’s is reserved for approved partners; no public API was found for Crésus.
- Hosting. The law does not require hosting in Switzerland, but a contract, professional secrecy or your clients may.
- Who approves. A single person, several approvers with thresholds, or a fiduciary (Treuhand) firm, as outsourced accounting practices are called in Switzerland, with many clients: the approval workflows differ.
To measure your volume and your time per invoice, follow the method in the accounts payable automation guide.
Comparison table of invoice capture tools
The first table covers the capture built into Swiss accounting software, the second covers dedicated tools and document management systems (DMS). Prices as displayed on 27 September 2026, excluding temporary discounts.
Built-in capture: bexio, Abacus, KLARA, Banana, Crésus, WinBIZ
| Tool | Vendor and country | What the capture does | Published quota or entry price | Stated hosting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| bexio: Scan2Go (bexio Go) | bexio AG, Rapperswil (CH), Swiss Mobiliar group | Date, amount and VAT rate read by AI; QR-bills captured automatically | Advanced CHF 42 per month (annual): 50 extractions; Optima 100; Ultimate “unlimited”, fair use of around 1,000 scans; Basic without reading | Switzerland; encrypted backups also abroad |
| Abacus: DeepO (AbaScan Pro in the ERP) | DeepCloud AG, Abacus spin-off, Wittenbach (CH) | Classification, AI and OCR reading, line items; creditor entry and approval workflow in Abacus | DeepBox: CHF 9 per month per box for 50 analyses, then CHF 0.05; fixed price CHF 0.50 per analysis. AbaScan Pro: not published | Switzerland; ancillary providers outside Switzerland |
| AbaNinja | DeepCloud AG, Wittenbach (CH) | Address, amounts, VAT and payment data extracted, then approval | Starter free (1,000 documents per year), Basic CHF 21 per month (excl. or incl. VAT not stated); quota not published | Not published |
| KLARA: myKLARA | ePost Service AG, Lucerne (CH), majority-owned by Swiss Post | Mobile scanning; supplier, date and amount recognised by AI | Included in Business Basic, CHF 69 per month (monthly); quota not published | Not published |
| Suiteify (formerly Infoniqa, formerly Sage Switzerland) | Infoniqa Schweiz AG, Root (CH), Infoniqa group (holding company in Germany) | Mobile scanning and digitisation of incoming invoices announced, depending on the package | On quotation | Not published |
| Proffix: Belege einlesen, Proffix Scan | Forterro Schweiz Proffix AG, Altendorf (CH), Forterro group | QR-bills, e-invoices, eBill, PDFs from a mailbox; other formats via third-party programs | Proffix Scan free; Buchhaltungspaket (accounting package) CHF 62.10 per month per user (excl. or incl. VAT not stated) | “100% Swiss made & hosted” according to the vendor |
| Crésus Pay | Epsitec SA, Yverdon-les-Bains (CH) | QR code only: supplier record, date, amount, due date | Included in Crésus+, Invoicing (Facturation) module required; Crésus Comptabilité on subscription from CHF 20 per month | Installed software; Cloud option, location not published |
| Banana: QR code scanner | Banana.ch SA, Lugano (CH) | QR code only, via a reader or a third-party app | Professional CHF 89 per year, Advanced CHF 179 per year, incl. VAT | Application installed on the computer |
| WinBIZ: Winbiz app and App Store | Fiducial Winbiz SA, Geneva (CH) | QR code via the free app; OCR via third-party apps (RecieptScan Basic, proxyscan) | Winbiz Cloud CHF 64 per month (annual); RecieptScan Basic CHF 8.90; proxyscan free | Not published |
| Run my Accounts | Run my Accounts AG, Stäfa (CH), Suiteify group | Outsourced service: algorithmic reading, human check of every document | Package S: CHF 0 per month plus CHF 1.80 per entry | Not published |
Dedicated tools, IDP and document management
| Tool | Vendor and country | What the capture does | Published quota or entry price | Stated hosting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Doxis SpendControl (formerly Klippa) | Doxis AI Solutions B.V., Groningen (NL), SER group (DE) | Invoices, expense claims, cards; no Swiss integration announced | Effective EUR 95 per month, 4,000 invoices per year; VAT not stated | Azure in the Netherlands |
| Rossum (Coupa) | Rossum Ltd, London (UK), acquired by Coupa on 12 May 2026 | Reading of transactional documents (IDP), large organisations | Starter from USD 18,000 per year | AWS: Frankfurt by default, Ireland, United States, Japan; no Swiss option |
| Perk (formerly Yokoy) | Yokoy Switzerland Ltd, Zurich, acquired by TravelPerk, now Perk | Extraction, matching with the purchase order, approvals | On quotation | Perk: AWS in Ireland; Yokoy in 2024: Zurich, Frankfurt, Belgium |
| Dext (formerly Receipt Bank) | Dext Software Ltd, London (UK) | Capture, coding, reconciliation; no Swiss integration announced | Business USD 25.21 per month (annual), 250 documents per month; no CHF pricing | AWS in Ireland, failover in Frankfurt; OCR on Google Cloud, EU or United States |
| GetMyInvoices | fino data services GmbH, Kassel (DE) | Collection from portals and mailboxes, AI recognition; bexio interface | Essential from EUR 19 per month (20 documents), plus VAT | Germany (AWS Frankfurt, Google Cloud) |
| Candis | Candis GmbH, Berlin (DE) | Capture, pre-accounting, approvals; no Swiss integration announced | Base from EUR 389 per month, 12- to 36-month commitment | AWS in Frankfurt |
| DocuWare | DocuWare GmbH, Germering (DE), Ricoh subsidiary | Document management and workflows, including invoices; Abacus integration listed | USD 30 to 125 and more per user per month | Azure; Switzerland served from Ireland and the Netherlands (2022 document) |
| M-Files | M-Files, Tampere (FI) and Austin (US) | Metadata-based document management, workflows; Abacus connector from a partner | Essentials EUR 65 per user per month | Azure, more than 20 regions; Swiss region not published |
| ELO Invoice | ELO Digital Office GmbH, Stuttgart (DE), subsidiary in Wallisellen | Incoming invoices within the ELO suite; ELO for Abacus | No public price from the vendor | Certified European data centres, location not stated |
When the tool built into your accounting software is enough
In many SMEs, the built-in tool is enough and remains the simplest option: no connector, no second subscription, no data passing between two vendors. That is the case if:
- most of your invoices are QR-bills, which bexio (from Advanced), Crésus, Banana, WinBIZ and Proffix can already read;
- your invoices without a QR code stay below your plan’s quota (50 per month in bexio Advanced, 100 in Optima);
- you manage a single company, with one or two approvers and a single intake channel;
- you are on Abacus, where DeepO is natively linked to the creditor approval workflow.
In that case, compare the price of your software’s next plan up with that of an external tool. To check a QR-bill you have received, our QR-bill validator is enough.
Where is the data hosted? What each vendor states
The revised Federal Act on Data Protection (FADP) does not require hosting in Switzerland. It governs processing by processors (Art. 9) and the disclosure of personal data abroad (Art. 16 and 17). EU and EEA states are among the countries with adequate protection; the United States only for companies certified under the Swiss-U.S. Data Privacy Framework (Annex 1 of the Data Protection Ordinance, DPO).
What the vendors write, caveats included:
- bexio: personal data stored and processed exclusively in Switzerland; but, according to the same policy, encrypted backups “in Switzerland and abroad” and possible recipients in Europe and the United States.
- DeepBox and DeepO: documents on servers in Switzerland; providers outside Switzerland for ancillary functions (CV analysis, app links) and external AI tools in internal work.
- Doxis: Azure in the Netherlands. Dext: AWS in Ireland, OCR at Google Cloud, EU or US jurisdiction. GetMyInvoices and Candis: Germany.
- Rossum: AWS region of choice, no Swiss option. DocuWare: Swiss customers served from Ireland, copy in the Netherlands (2022 document). Perk: AWS in Ireland; current hosting of former Yokoy customers not published.
A connector added between two tools also moves the data: Zapier hosts in the United States only; Make offers the EU or the United States, a permanent choice made when the organisation is created. For Dossivio, see the data sovereignty page.
Pitfalls to avoid when reading a comparison
The usual mistakes: outdated names, misread quotas, prices compared on different bases.
- Names that have changed. Sage Switzerland was taken over in 2021 by Infoniqa (products ONE Start, ONE 50, ONE 200), a group that has operated under the Suiteify brand since 15 September 2026 and also owns Run my Accounts. Klippa has become Doxis; Yokoy was acquired by TravelPerk, now Perk, and not by Emburse; Receipt Bank is now called Dext.
- DeepV is not DeepO. DeepV does data visualisation; invoice reading is DeepO.
- “Unlimited OCR”. At bexio, only Ultimate is unlimited, with fair use of around 1,000 scans per month.
- Incl. VAT versus excl. VAT. Banana shows its Swiss prices including VAT: compare like with like.
- Partner prices. The AbaWeb rates circulating for Abacus are purchase prices reserved for service providers, not public prices.
- Host certifications. Some ISO or SOC lists belong to Azure or to the “cloud host”, not to the vendor (cases found at Klippa and Candis).
- Welcome discounts. The discounts shown in September 2026 for new customers (bexio, KLARA) are not reference prices.
When a service like Dossivio makes sense
A document preparation service is justified when the problem is no longer reading an invoice, but everything around it:
- several channels (email, post, portal, photos) to bring together before any reading;
- many clients: each document must reach the right client file and the right financial year;
- exceptions (foreign invoices, illegible documents, duplicates) to handle in a queue, with their reason;
- systematic IBAN checks before payment, beyond the one-off IBAN checker;
- missing documents to chase, when this takes longer than the data entry;
- hosting in Switzerland required by your clients or your contract.
Dossivio Capture covers these points: intake by email, portal or scan, matching to the client file, extraction, prepared entry, duplicates and IBAN changes flagged, chase-ups, sign-off by an authorised person before anything is sent or paid, data hosted in Switzerland. Capture is available from CHF 149 per month excl. VAT for up to 30 client files; if your software is enough, the process assessment (CHF 3,500, fixed price) will tell you so. See Dossivio Capture and the integrations.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
Is there a bexio alternative for invoice capture?
If you keep bexio: a plan with a higher quota, a tool with a bexio interface (GetMyInvoices, a DocuWare app from the bexio marketplace, Make or Zapier), or a service that prepares the documents. Changing accounting software for capture alone is a major decision: compare these options first.
Does bexio read PDF invoices without a QR code?
bexio describes AI reading (Scan2Go) in the bexio Go mobile app, within the plan’s quota. Reading of PDFs without a QR code dropped into the web inbox is not documented by the vendor. QR-bills are captured without limit from Advanced.
Do Banana and Crésus offer OCR?
They do not announce any. Banana reads the QR code with a code reader or a third-party app, without supplying a scanning app. Crésus Pay decodes the QR code by drag and drop or photo, with Crésus+ and the Invoicing module.
How does document scanning work in KLARA?
The myKLARA app scans paper documents; KLARA uses AI to recognise the supplier, the date and the amount, and converts currencies at the rate of the Swiss federal customs office. The feature is included in Business Basic, with no published quota.
Is a tool hosted in Germany allowed under the FADP?
Yes, in principle: Germany, like the other EU states, is among the countries with adequate protection (Annex 1 DPO). You need a processing agreement that complies with Art. 9 FADP, and you should check where the vendor’s sub-processors operate, particularly in the United States.
Sources
- Federal Act on Data Protection (FADP), Art. 9, 16 and 61 (Fedlex)
- Data Protection Ordinance (DPO), Annex 1 (Fedlex)
- bexio, package comparison (last updated 28 May 2026)
- DeepBox, DeepBox and DeepO pricing
- Banana Accounting, prices (CHF incl. VAT)
- Klippa becomes Doxis (announcement of 30 March 2026)
Sources checked on 27 September 2026
Request an assessment
Describe a process, we will scope it
Tell us which flow costs you the most time, which software it touches, and how many files go through each month. We reply within two working days, in English, French or German.
- Swiss engineering
- Reply within two working days
- French, German, English
Email Dossivio
Describe the flow that costs you the most time and we will tell you whether it is worth automating.
Email Dossivio